Built in the late 19th century, the house started life as the Austro-Hungarian consulate. At the time, all the consulates in Chania were located in the grand seaside suburb of Halepas.
In 1933, the house was purchased by the grandmother of the present owners, Irene Valyraki and Ioanna Koutsoudaki.
Originally, the house had extensive grounds with its own vineyard and fountain. The only way to reach Chania was on foot or on a donkey. And the only sounds at night were the lapping of waves and the slapping of oars from passing fishing boats.
In 1940, the British Consul took a shine to the property and persuaded the reluctant residents to move out, leaving most of the furniture behind. (The original sign from the British Consulate still hangs inside the hotel).
The house was finally restored to its rightful owners in 1955. Irene Valyraki was still living there in the late 1960s, when her sister, Ioanna Koutsoudaki, an interior designer, suggested they turn the family home into a guesthouse. Many of the family’s heirlooms - original armoires, settees, paintings and photographs - still adorn the hotel.
Doma Hotel opened in Christmas 1971. Throughout the 1970s, Doma’s reputation as one of the classiest hotels in Greece continued unabated. Artists and actors, diplomats and socialites came to take tea, play cards, or enjoy their holidays. The hotel was open year-round until 1985.
Today, Doma is open from April to October. It is still run by Irene and Ioanna with the same discreet dedication that has won accolades and loyal fans since they welcomed their first guests 40 years ago. With its period interiors, superlative views, and old-fashioned service, Doma remains one of the most charming hotels anywhere in Greece.